Board of Directors and Advisory Council

Board of Directors

The West Marin Fund was organized by long-time leaders in the West Marin nonprofit community.

Our Board members have deep roots in the nonprofit community, having served as founders, directors, and executive directors of numerous local organizations and projects, including the Coastal Health Alliance, Dance Palace Community and Cultural Center, Gallery Route One, Halleck Creek Ranch, Inverness Garden Club, Inverness Yacht Club, Papermill Creek Children’s Corner, Point Reyes Farmers’ Market, Point Reyes National Seashore Association, Shoreline Healthy Start Collaborative, the Stinson/Bolinas Community Fund, Think Local First West Marin, Tomales Bay Library Association, West Marin Coalition of Agencies, West Marin Commons, West Marin Community Services, West Marin Health Coalition, West Marin-Inverness School PTSA, West Marin Latino Family Services group, and the West Marin Review.

Marcia Barinaga: Former science reporter and board member of East Bay Community Foundation, Marcia is a sheep rancher in West Marin and a board member of Marin Agricultural Land Trust (MALT).

Susan Byrd: Susan is a clinical social worker, an Advisory Board member of the National Parks Foundation, and a trustee of the Lampert Byrd Foundation.

Gary Ireland: Finance Committee Chair. Former business owner, Gary was Vice President of Point Reyes Station Village Association and recent Board President of West Marin Community Services.

Michael Mery: A third generation West Marinite, Michael’s board memberships include the Dance Palace, Coastal Health Alliance, and the Inverness Association.

Harriet Moss: Board Chair. Harriet has created and served on the boards of numerous local, state and national nonprofits. She founded the Stinson-Bolinas Community Fund.

Cynthia Ohama: Treasurer. A small business consultant, Cindy was a founding member and first Executive Director of Coastal Health Alliance, and has served on many nonprofit boards.

Mary Rocca: Mary is President of the Palace Market and Rocca Family Vineyards, and served on the board of the Napa Valley Community Foundation for over a decade.

Ann Shulman: Vice Chair. Founder and President of Philanthropy Associates, Ann serves nonprofits and foundations in refining their priorities, leadership and services.

Lazuli Whitt: A federal and state post-conviction attorney, Lazuli served on the board of West Marin Community Services, and has two children at West Marin School.

Advisory Council

The West Marin Fund has a growing number of Advisors – people who have their eyes and ears on the ground for the West Marin Fund up and down our coastal region. They watch for issues that rise, for unmet needs we could address, and serve as a wisdom board on issues where we need greater expertise. We’re grateful for their help.

Nancy Bertelsen, Point Reyes Station: community outreach, Latino engagement

Barbara Boucke, Stinson Beach: community outreach

Julie Cassel, Point Reyes Station: elementary education, nonprofit administration

George Clyde, Marshall: community affairs

Steve Costa, Inverness: community organizing, co-founder West Marin Fund

Elaine Doss, Nicasio: community history, education

Mark Dowie, Inverness: journalism, media

Ken Emanuels, Inverness: community service

Wendy Friefeld, Inverness: nonprofit leadership

Charlene Harvey, Stinson Beach: parks and land conservation

Elizabeth Hill Gardner, Point Reyes Station: family farms, tourism

Maureen Kennedy, Inverness: affordable housing, education

Steve Kinsey, Forest Knolls: former Marin County Supervisor for West Marin

Harriet Kossman, Bolinas: arts, education

Venta Leon, Tomales: community organizing

Ted Lyman, Inverness: law, community affairs

Peter Martinelli, Bolinas: organic agriculture

Linda Mornell, Bolinas: psychiatry, youth development

Beth Perry, Stinson Beach: community outreach, education

Carlos Porrata, Inverness: philanthropy, Latino engagement

Toni Rembe, Inverness: law, philanthropy

Dennis Rodoni, Olema: Marin County Supervisor for West Marin

Lexi Rome, Point Reyes Station: convenings

Nancy Scolari, Point Reyes Station: agriculture, land and resource conservation

Mark Switzer, Point Reyes Station: affordable housing, community development